The AFOS Awards Committee is soliciting diverse nominations from Army, Navy, Air Force, VA, and Public Health for the five major awards for 2018:

(1) OD of the Year
(2) Junior OD of the Year
(3) Orion Award
(4) Reserve OD of the Year
(5) COL Bzdula AFOS Student Award

The OD of the Year and Junior OD of the Year awards are initially service-specific, with an awardee selected from each of the following services: Army, Navy, Air Force, VA, and Public Health. These recipients then compete for the AFOS OD of the Year and AFOS Junior OD of the Year awards.

To learn more about the awards program and to download the nomination forms, please click here or contact Dr. Ruth Hyatt at

Take this opportunity to help honor outstanding accomplishments by fellow federal service optometrists. Recognizing the excellence of these individuals not only highlights their achievements, but also underlines the diversity of AFOS members and their contributions to the profession.


Award nominations due July 15, 2018.
Categories: Uncategorized